windows, vmware, linux and whatever else confuses me…

What happened to “logon.scr”? My screensaver GP isn’t working…..

leave a comment »

I have a group policy in AD that turns on the screensaver using “logon.scr”. Logon.scr is the screensaver that locks your OS and prompts for a user/password. After moving my Win2k3 virtuals to Win2k8, I started noticing my GP was no longer working properly. Turns out in Win2k8 and in Win7, the “logon.scr” name was removed from C:\windows\system32. It’s new name is now “scrnsave.scr”. After making the necessary updates in group policy management and doing a /gpupdate /f in the console I am now able to get this to work.

Written by thlnk3r

December 1, 2011 at 04:53

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

