windows, vmware, linux and whatever else confuses me…

PSOD’s and Ram errors?!?!

with 4 comments

Well either my board is extremely picking on the memory or the dimm slots are bad because I’ve received two PSOD’s recently with ESXi 4.0. I have plans to RMA the board hoping that resolves the issue. I manually went into the bios and set the memory to jedec standards (5-5-5-15 1.8v). I had a few settings on AUTO so perhaps that was the culprit. We shall see 😉

Going to move my iscsi target completely off my VMHost and make a dedicated machine just for that. I noticed some latency issues while browsing inside the target. Problem is I have the iscsi target on the same drive that I have 4-5 other VM’s on. I believe there was some drive I/O issues there. I’ll go with openfiler as the OS for my new iscsi target.

Will eventually be installing Exchange 2007 as well.

Updates to follow….

Written by thlnk3r

July 5, 2010 at 20:34

Posted in Uncategorized

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I’ve never heard of a PSOD. What’s that?

    txtmstrjoe

    July 6, 2010 at 02:34

  2. It’s ESXi’s version of a blue screen of death (purple screen of death). Pretty much looks like this: http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/en/9/95/VMware_ESX_PSOD.png

    Txtmstrjoe I think you’re the only one subscribed to my blog LOL

    thlnk3r

    July 6, 2010 at 06:14

  3. Is this with memory you’ve already swapped out? I love complaining to motherboard manufacturers just to have them tell me that the specific memory I’re using hasn’t been validated with them, so I’, going to need to spend another couple of hundred dollars before they’ll look at the RMA. (Not that they ever follow through on that threat.)

    As to the iSCSI target, that sounds like a good idea to have it completely dedicated anyway.

    Markle

    July 6, 2010 at 17:14

    • I ran another diagnostic with Memtest86+ (tests 5 and 8 each for 5hrs+) and it came back negative. The other diagnostic tool I ran was from uxd.com (Quicktech Pro). I’m starting to think the DIMM slots are bad on the board. For all I know it could be the host OS that is taking a dump. I hate computers…….

      thlnk3r

      July 6, 2010 at 18:12


Leave a Reply

