windows, vmware, linux and whatever else confuses me…

What am I working on?

with one comment

Yeah first blog post ever. My blogs will mainly be about my enterprise environment at home and what lies ahead of my journey in becoming a sys admin. Just FYI complete newbie to this industry (yes I still haven’t completely learned the OSI model) but I’m training myself at home by building this stuff HOPING it gets me to my destination…some day ;)

(excuse my writing skills and grammar. This is one of my weak spots)

Here’s a few things I’m currently working on:

  • Nagios reporting (core 3.x) on Centos 5.4…

Why use Nagios? Well for obvious reasons I need some monitoring for my virtuals. It would be nice to know hardware resources and availability.

  • Fog imaging..

This piece is great because I learn a bit of Linux at the same time PLUS I can deploy images across my network via PXE boot. Perhaps I can learn a little about “syspreping” a win2k8 virtual and deploying it.

  • Win2k8 64-bit DC w/DNS

I have my Win2k8 domain controller up with internal DNS going. I have my active directory structure set up the way I like it plus I have some group policies already being enforced. However a lot of it still needs refining. Shoot I still need to get DHCP going!

  • and many more things

Did I mention I’m still learning this wordpress interface and all the neat options!

Written by thlnk3r

April 19, 2010 at 06:55

Posted in Uncategorized

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Holy cow, I’m keen to follow this blog. So much to learn from this, so many things I’ve never even heard of.
    Hope you stay patient if/when I start asking too many questions!

    txtmstrjoe

    April 19, 2010 at 07:01


Leave a Reply

